College Hockey Inc.

Women's Ice Breaker Tournament


The annual Women's Ice Breaker Tournament marks the traditional start to the college hockey season. Celebrating its 3rd tournament in 2023-24, the Ice Breaker brings together four of the nation's top teams, typically from different conferences.

The Ice Breaker Tournament was created by the Hockey Commissioners Association in order to celebrate the start of the season with teams from a variety of NCAA Division I conferences. The event has a legislative exemption from the NCAA which allows the four participants to play two additional games above the normal limit of 34.

In 2022, Clarkson earned the Icebreaker title in Lake Placid with a 3-1 win over St. Lawrence.

The 2023 Women's Ice Breaker Tournament will be hosted by Sacred Heart at Martire Family Arena. The other participants for 2023 are Lindenwood, Northeastern and St. Cloud State.

The 2024 Women's Ice Breaker Tournament will be hosted by Ohio State at OhioHealth Ice Haus. The other participants for 2024 are Cornell, Penn State and Stonehill.

Women's Ice Breaker Tournament History

Year Host Site Participants (Champion in Boldface)
2019 Mercyhurst Buffalo Harbor Center (Buffalo, N.Y.) Colgate, UConn, Mercyhurst, Minnesota Duluth
2020 Not held because of COVID-19
2021 Not held because of COVID-19
2022 Neutral Site 1980 Rink Herb Brooks Arena (Lake Placid, N.Y.) Clarkson, Holy Cross, St. Lawrence, Syracuse
2023 Sacred Heart Martire Family Arena (Fairfield, Conn.) Lindenwood, Northeastern, Sacred Heart and St. Cloud State
2024 Ohio State OhioHealth Ice Haus (Columbus, Ohio) Cornell, Ohio State, Penn State and Stonehill