College Hockey Inc.

Women's National Awards

Patty Kazmaier Award


An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award was established in 1998 and is presented annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey. Other selection criteria include outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.

In 2023, Ohio State University defender Sophie Jaques (Toronto, Ont.) was named the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recipient. Jaques is the first Ohio State player and just the second blueliner to capture the award.

The award selection process begins in February, when NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey head coaches are asked to nominate players for the award. Players who are nominated by two or more coaches are then placed on an official ballot, which is sent back to the coaches to vote for the top 10 finalists. An independent accounting firm tabulates the ballots.

The three finalists, as well as the recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, are chosen by a 13-member selection committee comprised of NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey head coaches, representatives of the print and broadcast media, at-large members and representatives of USA Hockey, the National Governing Body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States.

Patty Kazmaier represented the spirit, character and on- and off-ice excellence upon which The USA Hockey Foundation national women’s ice hockey award is based. A gifted scholar-athlete, Patty battled a rare blood disease for more than a year before passing away in 1990 at the age of 28. A loving mother and wife, she left behind her husband, Mark J. Sandt and an infant daughter, Serena.

Patty Kazmaier Award Winners

Year Winner School Pos. Hometown
2023 Sophie Jaques Ohio State Defender Toronto, Ont.
2022 Taylor Heise Minnesota Forward Lake City, Minn.
2021 Aerin Frankel Northeastern Goalie Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.
2020 Elizabeth Giguere Clarkson Forward Quebec City, Que.
2019 Loren Gabel Clarkson Forward Kitchener, Ont.
2018 Daryl Watts Boston College Forward Toronto, Ont.
2017 Ann-Renée Desbiens Wisconsin Goalie La Malbaie, Que.
2016 Kendall Coyne Northeastern Forward Palos Heights, Ill.
2015 Alex Carpenter Boston College Forward North Reading, Mass.
2014 Jamie Lee Rattray Clarkson Forward Kanata, Ont.
2013 Amanda Kessel Minnesota Forward Madison, Wis.
2012 Brianna Decker Wisconsin Forward Dousman, Wis.
2011 Meghan Duggan Wisconsin Forward Danvers, Mass.
2010 Vicki Bendus Mercyhurst Forward Wasaga Beach, Ont.
2009 Jessie Vetter Wisconsin Goalie Cottage Grove, Wis.
2008 Sarah Vaillancourt Harvard Forward  Sherbrooke, Que. 
2007 Julie Chu Harvard Forward Fairfield, Conn.
2006 Sara Bauer Wisconsin Forward St. Catharines, Ont.
2005 Krissy Wendell Minnesota Forward Brooklyn Park, Minn.
2004 Angela Ruggiero Harvard Defender Harper Woods, Mich.
2003 Jennifer Botterill Harvard Forward Winnipeg, Man.
2002 Brooke Whitney Northeastern Forward Snohomish, Wash.
2001 Jennifer Botterill Harvard Forward Winnipeg, Man.
2000 Ali Brewer Brown Goalie Racine, Wis.
1999 A.J. Mleczko Harvard Forward Nantucket, Mass.
1998 Brandy Fisher New Hampshire Forward Potsdam, N.Y.

Women's National Goalie of the Year Award

Established in 2021, this award goes to the NCAA’s best Division I female goaltender. The award is presented annually by the Hockey Commissioners Association.

Women's National Goalie of the Year Award Winners

Year Recipient/Institution
2021 Aerin Frankel, Northeastern
2022 Aerin Frankel, Northeastern
2023 Gwyneth Philips, Northeastern

Women's National Rookie of the Year Award

Established in 2014, this award is voted on by the nation’s Division I assistant coaches. The award is presented annually by the Hockey Commissioners Association.

Women's National Rookie of the Year Award Winners

Year Recipient/Position/Institution
2014 Dani Cameranesi, F, University of Minnesota
2015 Annie Pankowski, F, University of Wisconsin
2016 Sarah Potomak, F, University of Minnesota
2017 Jaycee Gebhard, F, Robert Morris University
2018 Daryl Watts, F, Boston College
2019 Sarah Fillier, F, Princeton University
2020 Hannah Bilka, F, Boston College
2021 Kiara Zanon, F, Penn State University
2022 Payton Hemp, F, University of Minnesota
2023 Tessa Janecke, F, Penn State University/td>

Hockey Humanitarian Award

The Hockey Humanitarian Award is an award that is given annually, since 1996, to a college ice hockey player – male or female – who has given back to their communities in the true humanitarian spirit.

Hockey Humanitarian Award Winners

Year Player School
1996 J. P. McKersie Boston University
1997 Blake Sloan Michigan
1998 Erik Raygor Wisconsin
1999 Kristine Pierce RIT
2000 James Leger Maine
2001 Jason Cupp Nebraska–Omaha
2002 Rocky Ray Reeves Buffalo State
2003 Sam Paolini Cornell
2004 Chanda Gunn Northeastern
2005 Sarah Carlson Boston College
2006 Eric Leroux Princeton
2007 Kristin Savard Yale
2008 William Bruce Williams
2009 Missy Elumba Northeastern
2010 Ethan Cox Colgate
2011 Brooks Dyroff Boston College
2012 Aleca Hughes Yale
2013 Tucker Mullin St. Anselm
2014 Jeffrey Reppucci Holy Cross
2015 Brittany Ammerman Wisconsin
2016 Chris Dylewski Air Force
2017 Danny Divis St. Michael's
Justin McKenzie St. Michael's
2018 Sidney Peters Minnesota
2019 Jake Bunz[2] Wisconsin
2020 Amanda Conger[3] Saint Anselm Hawks
2021 Delaney Wolf Saint Mary's University Cardinals
2022 Josh Kosack Union

AHCA All-Americans

The CCM Hockey All-American Ice Hockey Teamsare sponsored by CCM Hockey and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association. The most recent Women's Division I All-American Team is listed below. For an archive of previous All-American Teams, please visit the All-American Page at

2022-23 Women's Division I All-Americans

First Team
Gwyneth Philips, SR, Northeastern University
(Athens, OH)
Ashton Bell, GR, University of Minnesota Duluth%
(Deloraine, MB)
Sophie Jaques, GR, Ohio State University*
(Toronto, ON)
Taylor Heise, GR, University of Minnesota*
(Lake City, MN)
Alina Mueller, GR, Northeastern University@#&+
(Winterthur, Switzerland)
Danielle Serdachny, SR, Colgate University#
(Edmonton, AB)
Second Team
Pia Dukaric, SO, Yale University
(Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Caroline Harvey, FR, University of Wisconsin
(Salem, NH)
Emma Seitz, SR, Yale University@
(New York, NY)
Jenn Gardiner, SR, Ohio State University
(Surrey, BC)
Elle Hartje, JR, Yale University
(Detroit, MI)
Grace Zumwinkle, GR, University of Minnesota%
(Excelsior, MN)
* First Team in 2022
@ Second Team in 2022
# First Team in 2021
% Second Team in 2021
& First Team in 2020
+ Second Team in 2019